red bulls nba team

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Florida has routed Alabama for the second time today, 9-2, to make the championship series against Arizona State. The two-out-of-three final round begins Monday night. Even though ASU is undefeated in the Women's College World Series and Florida has one loss, the slate is wiped clean heading into the final series. Neither team will be a stranger to the championship series, as ASU won the NCAA title in 2008 and Florida lost in the 2009 final to Washington.

Arizona State has defeated Baylor, 4-0, to eliminate the Bears and move into the championship round.  ASU will meet the winner of tonight's Alabama-Florida showdown.

Baylor accomplished an ususual feat. It scored zero runs -- zilch, nada, bupkis -- in regulation play during four games of the Women's College World Series, yet it won two games! The way it happened, of course, was that the Bears won two extra-inning affairs. Baylor won its opener over Oklahoma State, 1-0, with a walk-off homer in the eighth inning, then got skunked by Alabama, 3-0. Then came another overtime 1-0 win, in 13 innings over Missouri, before Baylor's ultimate elimination today, 4-0 at the hands of ASU. Baylor's final numbers: 0 runs in 28 innings of regulation play, and 2 runs in 35 innings total.

Florida has opened up Sunday play with a bang, scoring 11 runs in the first inning against Alabama and finishing off the Tide, 16-2, in a run-rule-shortened five innings. The teams will have a rematch tonight, with the winner making it to the championship series.

Here is the final version of the loss chart from all WCWS play leading up to the final championship series, where again, the slates are wiped clean...

No LossesOne LossTwo Losses (Gone)
Arizona StateFloridaOklahoma State

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...